Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Eighteen Fall Sport Athletes Honored By USCAA

Eighteen Fall Sport Athletes Honored By USCAA

Virginia Beach, VA - Johnson & Wales was well represented on the 2019 USCAA Fall Sport All-American, All-Academic, and All-National Tournament Teams. Eighteen different Wildcat volleyball, women's soccer, and men's soccer players were honored by the USCAA during it's Fall Championship Week, held November 7th-11th in Virginia Beach, VA. Johnson & Wales was the only Division II school to have each of it's three Fall sports teams qualify for postseason play. 

Student-athletes who are at least sophomore standing in school, and have an overall GPA of 3.5 or better are eligible to be selected to the USCAA National All-Academic Team. Johnson & Wales had eight honorees. They are Weeb Isaac from Men's Soccer, Iyana Favor and Moana Reid from Volleyball, and Diana Camacho, Lana Truese, Emily Richard, and Jaedan Smith from Women's Soccer.

USCAA All-Americans are selected by coaches and athletic directors from across the country based on their outstanding ability and season-long performances on the court and field. Ten Wildcats were named to the USCAA All-American teams in their particular sport. They were: Moana Reid and Toniya Scott, Volleyball 1st Team All-Americans; Demya Scott, Volleyball Honorable Mention All-American; Jaedan Smith, Women's Soccer 1st Team All-American; Lana Truese, Women's Soccer 2nd Team All-American; Brooklyn Cathey Women's Soccer Honorable Mention All-American; Alberto Olivas-Vazquez and Ilijah Washington, Men's Soccer 1st Team All-American; Jack Watters, Men's Soccer 2nd Team All-American; and Zack Savage, Men's Soccer Honorable Mention All-American.

Finally, five Wildcats were named to the USCAA National Championships All-Tournament Teams based on their performances over the weekend. Volleyball finished as the national runner-up, and Moana Reid and Toniya Scott were selected to the All-Tournament Team. Men's Soccer also finished as the national runner-up, and had three players selected to that All-Tournament Team. They were Weeb Isaac, Bubba Greene, and Shawn Geiger.